20 years ago I started Special Pet Care Services with only the desire to be with animals. I wanted to be a full time mom to my son, but I also needed to have some income. Pet sitting fell into my lap and it was a natural fit. I have loved animals since I can remember. My earliest memory is of my dog, Rusty, a sturdy German Shepherd who bit me once because I hugged him too hard. Even at the age of 4, I knew he didn’t bite me out of aggression, it was my fault. I refused, as best as a 4 year old can, to let my dad get rid of him. Rusty stayed with me for a long time after that. Dogs and cats have always been in my life, and at the age of 12 a neighbor asked me to take care of her dog while she was away for a weekend. I loved it and so did the dog. The seed was planted for future endeavors. As a teen I tried the normal jobs, restaurants, fast food, retail, flower delivery and even the corporate world. By the time I was in my early 20s I knew that wasn’t a world I wanted to be in. I started working with a dog trainer and got hired in as a kennel hand at a local kennel. I loved being with the animals and taking care of them, but most weren’t very happy being at the kennel; some of them loved the party atmosphere though. Soon, we decided to start a family and that was going to be my sole focus, and it was, until my son was about 2. I went back to the kennel. It wasn’t long after that a friend gave me an ad from the newspaper. The ad said an older couple was looking for someone to take care of their dog while they were on vacation. She said I’d be perfect for this. So…I called and got the job. After that, this same friend, recommended me to another person, who hired me. That person recommended me to another friend and Special Pet Care Services was born. I worked 2 jobs for several years before I could pet sit full time. Now, I’ve been doing this for nearly 20 years. Next November we will celebrate the 20th anniversary of a business that hardly existed when I started. Now, pet sitting is as common as Golden Retrievers. This blog will tell you about my adventures in pet sitting and dog walking in the Blue Water Area. I hope you enjoy my tails….oops…tales!

 

